Posted by: darkredgoldwing | July 2, 2009

Short visit

Well before I started this trip, I knew the Goldwing would need a periodic service while on the road.   I determined that the best time would be during the two days I’m in Twentynine Palms.   Before I left Washington I called the dealer over in Yucca Valley,  Hutchins Motorsports, a Honda and Harley dealer there.   I made an appointment for 9am Tuesday morning letting tem know I would be “on the road” and want to have the 8,000 mile service done at their shop.

So, here I am on Tuesday morning.   I leave Twentynine Palms and head about 30 miles over to Yucca Valley to the dealer.  The gentleman at the service counter verified that I had an appointment, goes outside and rolls the wing into the service department.   He comes back to the desk rustles through some paperwork and the proceeds to tell me that they are short one technician for the day and that they will have the bike ready the following afternoon.    I kept my cool and told them it was not going to be acceptable because I am on the road and the next morning I was going to be on my way to Bishop.   Most dealers will work within reason to get a rider back on the road who is traveling.  I was surprised that he didn’t mention the inability to do the work prior to taking the bike inside.   It would have also been great if I had gotten a phone call to let me know before wasting the time and mileage to go there.  They had my cell phone number to reach me.

Another issue I had was getting a replacement for the front tire.  The tire had to be ordered and would no be received for about 2 to 3 days.  I guess if one is stranded out in the desert, you really are!   No problem, I’ll just wait until another time. Nothing urgent to be done.

At least I had a good visit with my cousin, Maryanne.  She’s the matriarch of the family.  All of the aunts and uncles are long gone so I depend upon her for information about the earleir days of the family since sh’e the oldest cousin I have.      She has been a great help in gathering photos and information for family research.  I’ve been dabbling in genealogy for the last thirty years and most recently got a lot of help via the internet and Ancestry.com . 

We at least took the time to talk about what’s going on and with the family over a few glasses of wine.  The good thing was being able to leave the next day with a clear head.    I have to get back in the area early next year when the flowers are in bloom at Joshua Tree and maybe even at Death Valley.   I had already made the decision to cut Death Valle from the itinerary bnecause the temps were unseasonably high.   I just had no desire to visit, on motorcycle anyway. Stovepipe Wells in 100+ degree heat.   

"Riley"  says  "Hi"

"Riley" says "Hi"

 

 

 

I had to put in one photo, may as well be Riley.

Hope your day is great!    Ride or drive safe.


Responses

  1. I really enjoyed your story. I am so happy you decided to do this travel log. Keep the stories coming please. Also, check out my newest sites that should replace others. See http://JudithSherman.com and http://myhummingbirdcafe.com. Hope you check them out and leave a comment. Judy

    • Thanks for the comments. I hope there’s a little information and a few chuckles along the way.
      Jim


Leave a comment

Categories